CPH:DOX 2013

Publicerat den 20 november, 2013 | av Dokumentärfilmer.se


Vinnarna i CPH:DOX 2013

CPH:DOX aka. Copenhagen International Documentary Film Festival är nu över. Vinnarna I dem olika kategorierna delas upp i sex kategorier: DOX:AWARD, F:ACT AWARD, NEW:VISION, NORDIC:DOX, Politiken’s Audience Award och the Reel Talent Award.

DOX:AWARD goes to ”Bloody Beans”

Directed by Narimane Mari, Algeria/France

Jury statement: ”We see it as our duty to encourage filmmakers to take risks and challenge the idea of documentary. To expand the form, to embrace the unfolding complexity of reality and to imagine the future. We would like to give the CPH:DOX Award to a radical, original and playful debut film by Narimare Mari, for its fresh and joyful approach to the question and politics of re-enactment and for its provocative insistance on play as a continuing act of resistance in the process of decolonialisation. We celebrate this film for its embrace of Antonin Artauds’ statement: ‘It is better to be than to obey.”

Special mention goes to ”Stop the Pounding Heart” Directed by Roberto Minervini, USA/Italy/Belgium. Jury statement: ”We would like to give a special mention to a film that has generated intense discussion on the nature of fundamentalism and how a closed social system can be approached. It is a film in which intimacy becomes problematic and challenges the very nature of the documentary form.”

NEW:VISION AWARD goes to ”A Spell To Ward Off the Darkness”

Directed by Ben Rivers and Ben Russell, France/Estonia.

Jury statement: ”Our choice, A Spell to Ward off the Darkness, is partly allegorical, partly post-apocalyptic and partly a Black Metal music video. Its questions and problems are not resolved. They keep returning to the central theme of how to live when no present models appear to work. The movie shifts modes between portraying a failed commune, an aborted attempt at seclusion and a cathartic but ultimately senseless musical release. We congratulate the filmmakers.”

Special Mention: ”Aleksander”, directed by Wilhelm and Anka Sasnal, Poland. Jury statement: ”Aleksander is a quiet, nuanced portrait of rural life. Obsessively observational and classical in tone, the film follows a Polish family of farmers in their daily life.”

F:ACT AWARD goes to ”Dirty Wars”

Directed by Richard Rowley, USA.

Jury statement: ”This film depicts what investigative journalism can be at its best. Jeremy Scahill takes us on a journey into the dark and secret wars, the US is conducting worldwide, not even sparing their own citizens or children. Layer by layer Scahill exposes how the remaining superpower grossly violates national and international laws. He shows that the American ”War on Terror” is indeed a war of terror, meaning a secret war that it is beyond democratic control. This investigation was conducted under great risks exposing an undercover army killing everywhere with impunity.”

Special mention goes to ”No Fire Zone: The Killing Fields of Sri Lanka”, directed by Callum Macrae, UK. Jury statement: ”This film is utterly shocking and visceral, and the most emotional in the field. The jury commends Channel 4 for supporting this documentary and building a campaign around for a film that is extremely hard to broadcast.”

NORDIC:DOX AWARD goes to ”After You”

Directed by Directed by Marius Dybwad-Brandrud, Sweden.

Jury statement: ”After You is a documentary about the death of a family member, shot with a combination of simplicity and sophistication reminiscent of an Ozu film. The film-maker’s carefully composed images provide us with a sense of the mundane details that surround personal loss; but they also leave space for us to relate the film to our own experiences. We give this award in recognition of a film that provides a model for how to represent traumatic subjects, while still remaining thoughtful, unintrusive, and humble.”

Politiken Audience Award goes to ”Everyday Rebellion”

Directed by Arman & Arash Riahi, Austria/Switzerland

The audience has voted for its favourite film.

Reel Talent Award goes to Mahdi Fleifel ”A World Not Ours”

Jury statement: ”The Danish film directors and CPH:DOX will again this year hand out the Reel Talent Award to a Danish documentary director who has shown an exceptional cinematic vision in his first films. The Award is given as collegial pad on the shoulder to a director on his way to the stars… and as an encouragement to continue working towards realizing the cinematic vision of the director to fulfill the promises of his first films. Good films are like welcoming houses. The moment we enter we feel privileged being invited into unknown worlds that almost miraculously gradually open up to us and enrich our senses and understanding of other peoples lives.

”A world not ours ” is one of those rare, hospitable films.
The house we are invited into is full of pain and frustration, but because of the filmmaker and his family’s and friends’ great hospitality and courage to show their real faces we get to feel some of the joys and sorrows of this refugee camp for Palestinians in Lebanon. Due to the humanity and humor of the people behind and in front of the camera we get a unique chance to experience the mind-blowing complexity and desperation of living in a permanent state of homelessness.
”A world not ours” in its own bleak way is a beautiful and very poetic film that opens doors to other worlds instead of closing them.”

Taggar: ,

FavoriteLoadingLägg till på min lista!


Tillbaka till toppen ↑